Big Win for Comrades

Berkhamsted recovered well from going behind to a fine lob from visiting skipper Stuart Reynolds in the 16th minute, hitting back to score seven goals for their biggest league win of the season.

Skipper Steve Hawes worked his way through to equalise within five minutes with a shot. A James Armstrong shot from close range was kept out from a Lawrence Bunker cross. Aaron Usmani put Berko in front with a low shot midway through the half. A penalty from James Armstrong just before the interval made it 3-1 taking his tally for the season to forty-three goals, a new club record and makes him top scorer in the Division.

Berko went into the game knowing they needed to score four goals to overtake AFC Dunstable as the Division’s top scorers and early in the second half Matt Wardle duly achieved it by scoring from a pass by Armstrong.

Mick Vipond brought on three substitutes to keep the pressure up and one of them Tony Burnett obliged with two goals. He tapped in after the pacy Usmani ran into the penalty area and along the left byline before crossing to hand the goal on a plate. He also got the last goal with a tap in after a Hawes shot was blocked. In between those goals Anthony Page scored with a header from a Jordan Toomey corner. Burnett also hit the bar from a pass by another teenage substitute Josh Chamberlain as the Berko side ran riot.

It has been a record breaking season for the Comrades whose 107 point tally meant they won the Division by fifteen points scoring 122 goals and having the meanest defence with just thirty-five conceded in a forty game season in which goalkeeper Ed Farmer was ever present.

They can look forward to life in the Premier Division with confidence and paraded the trophy at the end of the game before the fans that also gave them the highest average attendance in the Division.

Comrades: 1. Eddie Farmer 2. Danny Power 3. Lewis Rodrigoe 4. Jim Carmichael 5. Simon Carmichael 6. Steve Hawes 7. Matty Wardle 8. Anthony Page 9. James Armstrong, 10. Lawrence Bunker, 11. Aaron Usmani.
Subs. 12. Jordan Toomey (on for Wardle), 14. Josh Chamberlain (on for Armstrong), 15. Tony Burnett (on for Bunker), Mark Welling and Steve Boad.



No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: